Who’s writing this?

20 Jun

I thought I should post an introduction of myself and what I’m doing before I start handing out my blog url and asking people to read it.

My name is Melanie Meaders. I’m from Salt Lake City, UT, but I’m living right now in the great state of New York because I’m serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

In the Church, there is no professional clergy. Each member willingly offers their service in the administration and leadership, without pay. We have local leaders, called from the local congregation, and worldwide leaders–most notably the modern-day prophet, Thomas S. Monson, who is the President of the Church.

So the sharing of the gospel is done by each of us as members. When we get to a certain age (for men it’s 19 and for women it’s 21) we have the opportunity to be set apart to serve full-time missions for one and a half to two years. This means that we submit an application, and we are sent wherever the Lord calls us to go through the leadership of the Church.

There are currently about 51,730 missionaries from the Church serving all over the world. I was called to New York, and I’ll tell you all about that later.

So I’m here. I just turned 23 years old, and I’ve been entrusted with the message that the Gospel of Jesus Christ has been restored to the Earth today. It’s an amazing feeling of responsibility. But I know that as I follow the counsel of the Lord and the leaders that he has given to guide me, I will be able to teach people what I know, and that is that Christ lives and that we can return to our Heavenly Father.

One Response to “Who’s writing this?”

  1. Janet Daniels October 16, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    good work, sister Melanie!

Leave a Reply

