Why I’m on a mission:

25 Jun

Part 3 in the getting-to-know-me series.

Why am I here? Why did I leave home to come to New York and share the gospel? These are intriguing questions. And I’ll be honest, I never expected to have to answer them because I never expected to go on a mission.

Missions in the church, especially for women, are completely optional. My siblings have all served missions (7 siblings = lots of missionaries), and people often asked me if I would finish the trend by serving, but I always kept my answer neutral. The truth was that I didn’t want to serve a mission. It seemed hard and it didn’t seem like something I would enjoy.

But when I graduated from college last year, I had very little idea of what I wanted to do next. I spent some time floating around, basically wasting my precious youth on television (but, oh! how I love it), and wondering how I would ever figure out what my plan was. I had a friend who had served a mission (and absolutely loved it) who kept telling me that I should just start filling out the paperwork and see how I felt about it.

Eventually I got around to trying it out. I set an appointment to meet with my Bishop one day after church and started mentally preparing myself to analyze my feelings and decide which way the Spirit was pushing me. But, interestingly, every time I started thinking about the coming meeting, I got really excited. And rather than thinking about whether it was right, I was thinking about where I could be called to go and what it would be like. And as soon as I sat down to meet with my Bishop I knew that this was right for me. I knew that, even though I would miss my family lots and lots, I would find happiness and excitement in serving a mission.

So here I am.

Leave a Reply

