July 4th

4 Jul

I’ve let a few days coast by without posting anything because I’m trying to find a definite direction for this blog. There is so much that I want to share about this gospel! But I figure I can take a break from that today as I post something about the holiday.

I never thought about the 4th of July as much of a spiritual holiday before my mission, but now, as I focus on the gospel more than ever before, I see things differently. Sister Hayes and I are teaching Relief Society today (for more info about church meetings, click here) and we’ll be talking all about how God helped and uplifted the Founding Fathers of this country. James Madison attributed the inspiration of the Constitution to the

… guardianship and guidance of the Almighty Being whose power regulates the destiny of nations whose blessings have been so conspicuously displayed to the rising of this republic.

I know that God had His hand in the work of those great men, and that through them He established the land in which He could restore His Gospel upon the earth.

Religious tolerance and the right to worship as we choose is part of God’s plan for us, and central to that plan is the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Because this land is a land of religious freedom, Joseph Smith was able to carry out the work of the Lord in restoring and organizing the Church of Jesus Christ in this country.

I’m so grateful that I could be born in this land. I’m grateful for the right to “[worship] Almighty God, according to the dictates of [my] conscience” (Article of Faith, #11). And I know that with that privilege comes the great responsibility of sharing the gospel.

One Response to “July 4th”

  1. Stacy August 4, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    I would like to add my own testimony of this great country. God is over all and He will continue to have His hand over it, as long as we remember Him. Lets pray that we do. I believe we have been blessed this long because of faithful people. This fourth of July was a spiritual one for me. I heard many others speak about their feelings of freedom and I remembered my grandfather who fought in WWII. GOD BLESS AMERICA!
    Thanks for the blog. God bless you in your missionary service.

Leave a Reply

