The Power of Testimony

14 Aug

There have been a couple of times on my mission when I’ve been feeling somewhat low. It’s great, but it’s work, and some days you just don’t see the little miracles. I mentioned in one of my previous posts that I had never planned on coming on a mission. It just didn’t seem like something that fit me at all. I’m not pushy and I hate feeling like a salesperson, so now and then I question whether I am made for this.

But today I realized how powerful it can be to hear someone bear their testimony of this gospel. Twice now, when I’ve been feeling a little low, I’ve been able to watch the DVD Special witnesses of Christ (2000), in which all the modern-day apostles of Christ bear their testimonies of Him, of the Church, the Book of Mormon, etc. That is a powerful DVD! I always feel lifted when I hear these disciples proclaim their powerful knowledge that Christ lives.

This has helped me to realize that when I’m a missionary, I’m not a salesperson. People may mistake me for that, but they don’t know me. I would never want to convince people that they need something; I don’t want to “sell” the gospel. I just want to share with them something that has brought me great happiness. And the best way to do that is to share my own testimony. As we bear testimony, the Holy Ghost helps us to understand truth. I don’t want or need any gimmicks when the Holy Ghost is there.

So I’ll just continue to share my testimony so that people who hear it can feel the Holy Ghost and we can all be lifted together. I know that Jesus is the Christ, that He made it possible for us to return to our loving Heavenly Father. I know that Joseph Smith was called as a prophet of God because our God has things for us to learn and work for us to do. I know the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is true!

I’ve also revamped my “Testimonies” page, so I can share some of the testimonies that people leave with me when they come to Palmyra to visit the historical sites. Please have a look, and then let me know what you think so that I can also try out this poll option.

Leave a Reply

