Why Do Mormons Marry in the Temple?

9 Sep

In preparing for a mission, I was asked to gather some family history information. Naturally, I laid that task on my parents. And then, of course, I didn’t get around to reading all of it until just a couple of weeks ago. I’m sorry that I didn’t read it sooner, because to learn more about my family was an incredible experience. Now I’ve written home, pleading for more information to read.

One of the anecdotes my mother added to the file was a talk given by my grandmother to a Relief Society group in 1995. It’s entitled “Blessings from My Temple Marriage.” I’d like to include some of that talk here to explain why Temple marriage is one of my goals.

In order to tell you of a few blessings that have come to me from my Temple Marriage, I must go back to the day I was married in the Salt Lake Temple. … At last we were in the beautiful sealing room with Harold B. Lee, waiting to perform the ceremony. As he began the ceremony, I kept listening for the words “time and all eternity”. I guess the reason I was so anxious to hear those words was because Melvin was leaving for the Army in a couple of weeks [during World War II] and I wanted to be sure that if anything happened to him in combat that we would be together in eternity. This was a great comfort to me during the three and a half years he was in the service and especially when he was wounded and spent three months in a hospital in England.

I was fairly young when my husband died of a heart attack and I remember the principal of the school where I worked saying to me, “It must be a great comfort and consolation to you to know you are sealed for time and eternity” and my reply to him was, “It is a comfort for eternity, but not very much right now.” I felt that I needed him as much now as I would then and that feeling stayed with me for a long time. It was not a bitter feeling, or anger, I just don’t know how to describe it.

As the years rolled by and I was busy and active and trying to live as I knew I should, trying to serve my Heavenly Father, attending the Temple regularly and praying daily, gradually the peace and comfort that I feel today came to me.

My blessings have been many and varied and I acknowledge the goodness of my Father in Heaven to me.

Some people may not understand why members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints marry in the temple. I just want to explain that when we are married in the temple, we are sealed beyond this life. I set a goal to be married there so that I can experience the blessing of knowing that I will be with my husband for time and all eternity.

One Response to “Why Do Mormons Marry in the Temple?”

  1. Steven Watts September 11, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Touching article. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

