Why won’t the Mormons leave me alone?

4 Jan

I know you’re asking yourself this. I know you’re wondering why they’re at your door, why they stop you in the street, why they insist on talking to you about their book.

Well, I’m the Mormon missionary who’s knocking on your door. I know you’re hiding behind your couch to avoid me, but I still want to talk to you. Let me tell you why:

I was raised reading the Book of Mormon. I was taught from my early childhood the story of Joseph Smith seeing God and being given the record to translate into English.

As I got older, I began to critically think about this story, and what I realized was that it sounded ridiculous! At that point of indecision, I had to know if my parents were right or crazy. Thanks to their teachings, I knew what to do to find out. I prayed to my Heavenly Father to tell me if it was true, and I began again to read the Book of Mormon.

The Book of Mormon is the only book ever published, of which I know, that carries in it a promise that one who reads it prayerfully and asks concerning it in prayer will have revealed to him by the power of the Holy Ghost a knowledge that it is true.

I asked God if the Book of Mormon was true, and He answered me. I know that it is. I asked God if this was His Church, and He answered me. That’s why I follow it.

Mormons aren’t out to tear you away from your religious beliefs. We aren’t coming to brainwash you or confuse you with circular logic until you’re convinced. (Blech, I would hate trying to do that.) We are simply providing copies of the Book of Mormon and asking you to pray. We do so with confidence that you will be answered.

Being a Mormon means that I belong to the Church of Jesus Christ — the same church that he established when he was on the earth, placing it in the charge of his twelve chosen Apostles — which was restored in its true form through a prophet in the latter days. Hence, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

I love being Mormon.

And I don’t put carrots in jell-o. That’s gross.

2 Responses to “Why won’t the Mormons leave me alone?”

  1. zo-ma-rah January 12, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    I would also like to testify of the importance of the Book of Mormon. It is a true record. And as Joseph Smith taught, a person can come closer to God by abiding by its precepts than any other book.

    It is vital that we read and live by what is taught in the Book of Mormon. We cannot simply ignore this divine book because of our own desires and traditions.

    In fact the Church has a history of not applying the Book of Mormon.

    D&C 84:54-57

    54 And your minds in times past have been darkened because of unbelief, and because you have treated lightly the things you have received—
    55 Which vanity and unbelief have brought the whole church under condemnation.
    56 And this condemnation resteth upon the children of Zion, even all.
    57 And they shall remain under this condemnation until they repent and remember the new covenant, even the Book of Mormon and the former commandments which I have given them, not only to say, but to do according to that which I have written— (D&C 84:54-57, 1832)

    Ezra Taft Benson in 1986 said:

    “Unless we read the Book of Mormon and give heed to its teachings, the Lord has stated in section 84 of the Doctrine and Covenants that the whole Church is under condemnation: ‘And this condemnation resteth upon the children of Zion, even all.’ (D&C 84:56, 1832)

    Dallen H. Oaks has said:

    “In that temple meeting, President Benson reread those statements and declared, “This condemnation has not been lifted, nor will it be until we repent.” He also repeated his declaration of a year earlier that “in our day the Lord has inspired His servant to reemphasize the Book of Mormon to get the Church out from under condemnation.”

    “May we follow the commandment to give diligent heed to these words of eternal life; may we follow our prophet’s challenge to remove the condemnation that comes from treating this new covenant lightly; may we be true to our sacred responsibilities…” (Dallin H. Oaks, Ensign, March 1994, p. 60)

    It is my humble prayer that all who receive the Book of Mormon will read it and apply the principles taught therein. It is the responsibility of every person who receives it to do so. Only by doing this can we bring ourselves in favor with God.

    I love the Book of Mormon. If you read it, it will bless your life.

  2. Elle March 18, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    Oh dear. Jello salad. Ha ha!
    Thank you for this post! I love the blogging pilot.
    You have perfectly worded the spirit of missionary work. It’s not about shoving religion down people’s throats, it’s about teaching about Jesus Christ and helping people find truth.

Leave a Reply

