Heavenly Majesty

16 Feb

In Palmyra New York, just off the state route 21, is the Hill Cumorah Visitors’ Center, home of the annual Hill Cumorah Pageant. The Pageant is a well-known event in the area, with an audience of thousands each night. But right now, the Hill Cumorah has another special attraction: a traveling display of photographs from the Hubble Space Craft.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My photographs of the photographs just don’t do them justice. They are awe-inspiring! I spent most of this last Sunday there just staring and staring.

Looking at those photos made me realize just how small I really am. One photo shows just a pin-sized view of the sky and within that view are thousands and thousands of galaxies. Within those galaxies are thousands and thousands of stars, some with their own planets. As a spiritual person, I look at those photos and I think about how incredible it is that among all of God’s creations, He knows me. He cares about the bad day I’ve had and He rejoices when I’m happy.

I know that there is more to this life than what we see. I know there are other worlds with other children of our Heavenly Father. And I know that there is a purpose to our existence. I’m all for the scientific explanations for creation and how our world works, but I know that they didn’t just happen by themselves. I know that God lives. He is my Father. He is the Creator. And His works are majestic!

3 Responses to “Heavenly Majesty”

  1. zo-ma-rah February 25, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I really love the stars. The images from the Hubble are amazing.

    The creations out in the universe really testify of God. I think as Latter Day Saints we have a special appreciation for outer space. Our scriptures speak of other worlds and the endless creations of God.

    Astronomers have discovered hundreds of planets orbiting other stars. But these discoveries really aren’t new or shocking. The scriptures and Joseph Smith spoke of these things way before their modern discovery.

  2. Sister Shepherd May 7, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Great Post. Love the slide show plus Elder Maxwell’s testimony from UTube.

  3. Anonymous November 27, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Thanks for posting. I saw this at the Washington DC Temple Visitors Center 2 years ago and think about it often. Wish I could get copies to share with members of my stake.

Leave a Reply

