Part 1: Doubt Not

8 Mar

One of my favorite scriptures is found in Doctrine and Covenants 6: 34&36

“Therefore, fear not, little flock; do good; let earth and hell combine against you, for if ye are built upon my rock, they cannot prevail.

“Look unto me in every thought; doubt not, fear not.”

That two-fold command: “doubt not, fear not” is what I wanted to write about.

There are plenty of reasons to doubt. As a missionary, I go around talking to people about the Church and about the Book of Mormon. Plenty of people have raised questions and challenged my beliefs. But I’m able to push doubts out of my mind pretty easily by using the good old brain I’ve been blessed with and thinking logically, and by praying to my Heavenly Father and asking him to let me know what the truth is.

Logically, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints would not have stood as long as it has if it were not true. Joseph Smith was an obscure, simple farmer in western New York when he began teaching about all that God was revealing to him. Today the Church has over 14 million members, every one of whom has been challenged to find out for themselves if Joseph Smith was telling the truth. 14 million people have received their own witnesses. And the more that I study the gospel, the more logical all its teachings are. I love the logic of the Plan that God has made for us! I love the logic of the Book of Mormon!

Spiritually, I am taught from the Bible, “…the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith.” (Galatians 5:22). I feel these things when I read the Book of Mormon. I feel them when I pray to know whether Joseph Smith was a Prophet. I feel them when I go to Church.  I know that those gentle, uplifting feelings are the way that God speaks to us through the Spirit. I know that God has told me personally that this Church is true.

Logic and spirituality go together. When he answers our prayers, God has told us the answers will come “in your mind and in your heart” (Doctrine and Covenants 8: 2). And yes, there are doubts. But when we use logic and when we seek the Spirit, we can overcome these doubts and rest in the peace and security that the gospel brings.

I’ve mentioned some of this in earlier blog posts, but I thought it was worth repeating in conjunction with “Part 2: Fear Not”, which I’ll post next time I’m online.

2 Responses to “Part 1: Doubt Not”

  1. zo-ma-rah May 3, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Great post. I think that it is very important to recognize that in this changing world we have Christ as our steadfast anchor. We have no reason to doubt Christ. He is the same yesterday, today, and forever.

    While we may disagree, I think that while we should not doubt Christ, we should doubt the words on any mortal. Even if someone claims to speak for Christ it is important that we doubt and examine their words and teachings. Then as you talked about we should be open to the Spirit. We should not doubt in what the Spirit teaches us personally. Even if that changes from time to time. After all we are to be taught line upon line. But then again that is just my opinion and you should doubt my words.

    I don’t agree with your logic that the Church must be true because it has lasted so long. If longevity of an organization is any indicator of truth then the Catholic Church we be the most true. It has not only lasted but flourished for nearly two thousand years. Compare that to the one hundred eighty some years of the Church. Yet as L-DS we regard the Catholic Church as apostate. Likewise Islam which has existed for about one thousand four hundred years. It has become one of the largest religions in the world.

    I do agree that logic and Spirituality go together. The logical part of our brain is the left side. Our heart is just an organ for pumping blood. It has no feeling. One thing I realized recently is that our emotional part or our “heart” is the right side of our brain. So when we read that it will speak in our mind and our heart it is really saying that it will communicate to both halves of our brains. The logical side and the heart side.

    • sismeaders May 4, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      You’re right, really. Longevity is by no means an indication of truthfulness. I was having a hard time putting what I meant into words. But every now and then, I think about how the Church has flourished from the word of one 14-year-old boy in upstate New York and I feel all over again the truthfulness of it all. And putting things to the test is such an important part of it. We are supposed to search and think for ourselves, with reliance on Christ as the source of all truth.

Leave a Reply

